The Civil Defence (Amendment) Bill, 2009

Further to amend the Civil Defence Act, 1968.

Be it enacted by parliament in the sixtieth year of the republic of India as follows;-

  • This Act may be called the Civil Defence (Amendment) Act, 2009.
  • In section 2 of the Civil Defence Act, 1968,--
  • (i) in clause
    (a), after the words “time of such attack”, the words
    “Or any measure taken for the purpose of disaster management, before, during, at, or after any disaster” shall be inserted;
  • (ii) after clause
    (f), the following clauses shall be inserted, namely:--
    ‘(g) “disaster” means a disaster as defined in clause (d) of section 2 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005;
    '(h) “disaster management” means the disaster management as defined in clause (e) of section 2 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005.’.

Under Civil Defense, mainly 12 services are managed, which are as under;-

  1. Headquarters Service
  2. Warden Service
  3. Communication Service
  4. Casualty Service
  5. Fire Extinguishing Service
  6. Safety Service
  7. Welfare Service
  8. Rescue Service
  9. Dead body disposal Service
  10. Depot and Transportation Service
  11. Training Service
  12. Supply Service

On formation of Madhya Pradesh in the year 1956, this department was expanded in new Madhya Pradesh. Thereafter in Nov.2000, also in the state of Chhattisgarh, which was separated from Madhya Pradesh, this Civil Defense in Chhattisgarh is situated at Mana, Raipur, whose Director General is Hon. Shri Girdhari Nayak. District Collectors are Civil Defense Controller in the Districts.